Live from Radio Rinkside


 

Live from Radio Rinkside

(The Bob Chase Story)

Written by: Bob Chase as told to Blake Sebring
Published by: AuthorHouse Publishing Company
Date published: 01/29/2012
ISBN: 978-1-46785-791-8
Available in Ebook
Live from Radio Rinkside published by authorhouse publishing company
OVERVIEW:
For 56 years, Bob Chase has been an institution as the voice of the Fort Wayne Komets, one of the premier franchises in minor league hockey. Thousands of children over five decades have hidden under the covers listening to Chase describe the action throughout the Midwest as they drift off to sleep listening to their heroes. It’s possible no one else in America has introduced more people to the sport.He’s also been a key voice for WOWO, 1190-AM. During his amazing career, Chase has interviewed superstar athletes, political figures and the elite of American entertainment, including Elvis Presley and Frank Sinatra.A devoted husband, father and grandfather, this is his story.
PREVIEW:
I’m happy that I can’t look into the future because in 1950 when I took my first radio job, I never could have dreamed it would lead to the life and career I’ve had. In retrospect, it still seems like a fantasy, 58 years of marriage to Murph, 55 years of Komets hockey, 30 years of the Indianapolis 500, 20 years of high school and college sports and countless other unbelievable experiences from a career in radio. I still shake my head when I think about that because I don’t know how I got here. All these doors just kept opening for me.This year I’ll pass Foster Hewitt’s record for the longest affiliation by an announcer with one hockey team, as I continue with my 56th season calling the Komets. Foster was the Toronto Maple Leafs announcer for 55 years. When I started in this business, I never thought I’d make it a career, and never in my wildest dreams did I think I’d have a long career as a sportscaster.I have a nice family, a decent life, a fun job and time to enjoy life with family and friends. Being rich was never one of the priorities of my life, and I’ve never regretted any of the opportunities I passed by either in the sports field or other general areas of radio where I might have been more materially wealthy. Sometimes I’ll sit in the living room and I’ll look around at Murph and think, “Man, we have had a great life, haven’t we?” The kids collaborate that whenever they come home, call or write us. I never thought life could be this good.
Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Books, e-book, Format, Memoirs
5 comments on “Live from Radio Rinkside
  1. […] Live from Radio Rinkside (The Bob Chase Story) Written by: Bob Chase as told to Blake Sebring Published by: AuthorHouse Publishing Company Date published: 01/29/2012 ISBN: 978-1-46785-791-8 Avail…  […]

  2. […] Live from Radio Rinkside (authorhousepublishing.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Live from Radio Rinkside (authorhousepublishing.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] Live from Radio Rinkside (authorhousepublishing.wordpress.com) […]

  5. […] Live from Radio Rinkside | AuthorHouse Book Publishing […]

Leave a Reply

